Posted by: sawan | July 11, 2008

Crisis Boat Party – 16th August

Hi there all!

Wow! I can’t believe it. My third post in 3 days. :)

I’ve got to tell you though… I have a bit of a dilemma.  You see, we booked these boat tickets a while back and I didn’t realise that one of my good friend’s weddings is on that day and it will be the whole day…

Let me tell you a bit about this boat party because I was really excited to go to it but of course the wedding does come first.

The boat party is being held by an organisation called Crisis.  Crisis is a voluntary organisation which deals in helping the homeless around the country.

Here’s an excerpt from their website:

“Crisis is a national charity that fights homelessness and empowers people to fulfil their potential and transform their lives.
Crisis defines its wider constituency as single homeless people. The focus of our work is on hidden homeless people who may be living in hostels and bed and breakfasts, or sleeping on friends and family’s floors. Crisis estimates that there are 400,000 hidden homeless people – but most do not feature in government statistics.”

I found out about Crisis through my local community organisation Young Jains where we would attend Crisis Open Christmas; a week or so of volunteers helping out at large warehouses kitted out as homeless shelters where people could come and grab a bite to eat, get some sleep under shelter, brush up on computer skills, get their CV sorted, get checked by a dentist or doctor or optician, grab some new clothes, and much more.

My experience of a Crisis Open Christmas was very enlightening and it showed how much work people really put into helping their fellow human.

Now here’s the dilemma that I have.  I know I’m going to miss out on this boat party, but I would not want the tickets to go to waste. I would rather pass them on to someone who would love to go to the event.

At the boat party there will be drinks, finger food, live music, a DJ and a great crowd.

You can read up more on it here: https://secure.crisis.org.uk/boat_trip/

I would highly recommend this event and checking out the page as it really looks amazing.

We had bought these tickets for around £15 so for anyone that is interested please drop me a comment and let me know how best we can pass these tickets across to you.

It will certainly be an amazing night out!!

Responses

  1. hi be happy to purchase 1 ticket

  2. if they’re still on offer, give me a call on 07940 167 380 and i’ll pick em up and pay you this afternoon…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

